MCCA is committed to diversity and inclusion in the legal field. It is important to recognize the companies, law firms, and individuals that demonstrate excellent leadership in legal departments and the practice of law across the country.  We’re proud to honor and distinguish companies and firms that tried something new and succeeded, whether in recruitment and retention, mentoring, pipeline initiatives, LGBT initiatives, or client inclusion feedback.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The MCCA Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to an individual who has made significant advancements in engendering a society that fully appreciates, celebrates, and recognizes the value of diversity. Awardees are trailblazers whose personal and/or professional paths have helped to affect change in our society and inspire others. While not limited to the legal profession, awardees display values and commitments in line with the MCCA mission.

 Justice Cruz Reynoso receiving his Lifetime Achievement Award 

Employer of Choice Award

The Employer of Choice Award is designed to spotlight industry leaders who have a commitment to and succeed at creating and maintaining an inclusive corporate legal department.

2014 EOC Award Honorees

Northeast Region Mid-Atlantic Region South Region Midwest Region West Region

Susan L. Blount
Executive Vice President and General Counsel

Dan Troy
Senior Vice President and General Counsel

Rupert Bondy
Group General Counsel

Sharon R. Barner
Vice President and General Counsel

Scott Wilensky
Senior Vice President and General Counsel

Thomas L. Sager Award

The Thomas L. Sager Award is presented to law firms that have demonstrated sustained commitment to advance the hiring, retention and promotion of diverse attorneys.

2014 Thomas L. Sager Award Honorees

Northeast Region Mid-Atlantic Region South Region Midwest Region West Region

George B. Vashon Innovator Award

George B. Vashon Innovator Award is presented to in-house legal departments, law firms, and bar associations that have led the way with innovative best practices to assist diverse attorneys in the legal profession.

Paula L. Ettelbrick Award

MCCA created the Paula L. Ettelbrick Award to celebrate unparalleled achievement by an individual or an organization in advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender attorneys. The award is named for the late Paula L. Ettelbrick whose quarter-century of work of organizations like Lambda Legal Defense and National Gay and Lesbian Task Force and the International Lesbian and Gay Human Rights Commission assisted thousands of individuals. Her career as an educator and mentor at institutions like New York University, Columbia University, and the University of Michigan, helped transform the national discussion regarding equality.


MCCA Video Corner

Cruz Reynoso is the recipient of MCCA's 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Employer of Choice Awards for all five regions was presented at the MCCA Diversity Honors Gala on Friday, July 25, 2014 at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC.

The Thomas L. Sager Award for all five regions was presented on Wednesday, March 12, 2014 at the CLE Expo in Los Angeles, CA.

The Paula L. Ettelbrick Award was presented at the Pathways to Diversity Conference® on Thursday, July 24, 2014 in Washington, DC.

The George B. Vashon Innovator Awards was presented at the Pathways to Diversity Conference® on Thursday, July 24, 2014 in Washington, DC.